<---- Back to main website

Home Help Search Login Register

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
0870 Strike back ?? (Read 16,157 times)
Kamenote-jin

0870 Strike back ??
Jul 18th, 2005 at 4:29pm

I'm a newbie here and I registered so that I can suggest a way that the "little people" can strike back at businesses exploiting us. Forgive me if this has already been suggested.

My idea is that with so many sites offering free sign-up for 0870 numbers and even offering to pay "up to 4p/minute" why don't we all sign-up for a premium rate number and then give that number to the banks, credit card companies, local council and utilities etc., etc.. Then if we can get them to call us they will perhaps understand what we object to about their 0870 numbers.

If enough people do this then we might even get lucky enough to use up all the numbers and swamp the system and bring it to its knees.

The neat thing is that it will be using the system to defeat the system!

Have fun,

Kamenote-jin
« Last Edit: Jul 18th, 2005 at 4:41pm by Kamenote-jin »  

&&==============================&&A small encrustation on the rock of society.

IP Logged

Shiggaddi

Saltash, Cornwall
Re: 0870 Strike back ??
Reply #1 - Jul 18th, 2005 at 5:11pm

It is certainly a good idea, and has been suggested on quite a few threads, and I do it myself!!

As for swamping the system, I don't think it would ever happen.  Having just worked it out, if every single 0870 number was used that would be 10 million numbers, and a further 10 million for 0871 as well!!

If they did get used up, then they would just bring up new numbering systems, like they already have done on 0844.  They would just introduce something like 0872, or 0843.