Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
SAYNOTO0870.COM

<---- Back to main website

Home Help Search Login Register

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Newcastle Airport annoyance (Read 25,365 times)
nrg710

UK
Newcastle Airport annoyance
Dec 7th, 2005 at 6:37am

Before I go off on one, I'll just explain the following:

1. I am a pilot
2. Pilots use a "directory" called the AIP to contact airports and air traffic control
3. This "directory" contains all the relavent information (for pilots) about most public airports in the UK.

This directory exists to propogate information useful for "the safe and efficient conduct of flights".

So it makes my blood boil to see that Newcastle International Airport's entry is an 0870 number!!!!

I am writing to them now to tell them that the manager who took the decision to migrate their number to 0870 is a complete t*sser. I'm also writing to the CAA to get them to ban this dispicable practice.

IP Logged

mc661

Habitual FOI requester.

West-Norfolk
Re: Newcastle Airport annoyance
Reply #1 - Dec 8th, 2005 at 7:55am

why dont u tell the CAA at the same time to ban the 0870 for nats.
What happens if you need to call from abroad to obviously fly the plane, to say the lyinair flight your on is delayed? Sorry 0870 dont work.

IP Logged

Shiggaddi

Saltash, Cornwall
Reply #2 - Dec 8th, 2005 at 3:18pm

This is one prime example of someone using 0870 when they can almost certainly expect calls from abroad for very important information.

Or do they assume that pilots would use the company phone to call, and not worry about the cost.  Even if that was the case, there is still the issue of connection from abroad, so get your act together and revert back to a geographic number.

Or better still, if they flight is delayed by some pink little animals in the sky and ofcom bans revenue sharing on 0870 and treats it as a normal number, then feel free to keep the number!!