<---- Back to main website

Home Help Search Login Register

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
We have an 0870 (Read 12,107 times)
Ilikemy0870

We have an 0870
Jun 13th, 2007 at 10:47am

OK, so lets start with an appology, I intentionally provided a message tittle, and user name designed to get a response, but for good reason.

I fully agree that many large companies are missusing the 0870 system, but ongoing 0870 bashing also has an effect on those of use that use them for a good reason.

I run a support website (aimed at medical and nursing staff) I do this with very minimal funding, and to pay for a geographical number is beyond my means (a BT residential line would cost more per year than my entire budget to run the website)

So I chose to use an 0870 number (yes this has a landline number behind it - but it's my home number, which I don't want publicised) (and I'm never there - because I work full time as a nurse)

Instead any user that wants to leave a message can use our 0870 number, which is connected 24/7 to an online answerphone service.

We publish the call costs next to the number, and make no profit at all from the line.

Before discovering that 0870 could be used in this way we used a YAC number - which again made us no money, but cost users an aweful lot more!

So, sorry, our 0870 number is a valuable tool, that we are proud to have and will continue to use.

So lets not totally write off 0870 it can be a force for good.
« Last Edit: Jun 13th, 2007 at 10:48am by Ilikemy0870 »  

IP Logged

dj1471

Re: We have an 0870
Reply #1 - Jun 13th, 2007 at 11:06am

Sign up with sipgate.co.uk; they'll give you a free geographical number with a voicemail service. All for £0.00 - no set-up fee, no charges, no line rental.

Now, ditch that 0870!
« Last Edit: Jun 13th, 2007 at 11:06am by dj1471 »  

IP Logged

ms01

Reply #2 - Jun 13th, 2007 at 11:34am