Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
SAYNOTO0870.COM

<---- Back to main website

Home Help Search Login Register

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
080x numbers - OFCOM position?? (Read 13,477 times)
croydoncorgi

080x numbers - OFCOM position??
Jul 1st, 2008 at 10:36am

(maybe there should be another section here for 0800 and 0808 numbers, which strictly speaking are not 'non-geographic' but another category)

I work as a gas installer and have been irritated for a LONG time that when I call the 'National Gas Emergency' number (0800 111999) from my mobile, it's  chargeable and NOT deductible from my call-minutes.  ALL the mobile providers charge for 0800 - apparently because they can!

To make matters worse, another service provider (Plumbfix) was recently launched with a catalogue of plumbing stuff but listing only one number for everything (0808 101 0000).

I was (finally) moved to call OFCOM to complain about 'Freephone' numbers not being free on mobiles and was told it was a 'commercial decision' for the mobile service providers.  This seemed a bit supine, since the whole POINT of 'Freephone' numbers is lost if they're not free!

I also realized that in fact there is already a serious safety-related issue here: consider the situation of a Pay-as-you-Go mobile user with no credit on their phone needing to call 0800111999 to report a gas leak...

There was a fanfare this morning from the EU: it seems the Commission is leaning on all the European mobile providers to make international text messaging cheaper.  Hooray!  Pity our very own OFCOM can't be as effective.

Maybe saynoto0870 should launch a Make Freephone Free campaign, aimed at the Commission in Brussels instead of at OFCOM in UK!

~ Edited by Dave: Thread title amended
« Last Edit: Jul 1st, 2008 at 12:30pm by Dave »  

IP Logged

Dave
Global Moderator

Yorkshire
Re: 080x numbers - OFCOM position??
Reply #1 - Jul 1st, 2008 at 12:34pm