<---- Back to main website

Home Help Search Login Register

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Are they cheaper? (Read 7,135 times)
Rattybag

Are they cheaper?
Sep 8th, 2009 at 9:27am

I dont know if its me being a bit thick, but I'm new to this and it takes my poor brain time to work things out!
The thing is, I put in a 08457 number and requested alternative numbers, and it did indeed come up with other numbers to use instead.
However, As I will need to use my mobile, how do I know the alternative numbers will be cheaper than the original?
It doesnt actually state what the alternative cost would be.
Or do I assume it WILL be cheaper anyway?

Rattybag.  Smiley

IP Logged

irrelevant

Re: Are they cheaper?
Reply #1 - Sep 8th, 2009 at 9:59am

From a mobile, in every case that I know of, calling numbers starting 01 02 or 03 will be cheaper than any number starting 08 (including "freephone" numbers, which mobiles generally charge extra for.  The only exceptions are for a very small numbers of helplines, mostly starting 0808 80, which will still be free.)

From landlines, it's somewhat more complicated.  Depending on your call package and provider, sometimes 0845 and 0870 calls might be inclusive, so incur you no charge, for certain times of day.  Outside these times, BT charge less than geographic rates for 0845 to some customers, wheras other providers charge more.

Also from BT, 0844/0843 calls cost up to 5p/min, which for some numbers may already be cheaper than landline calls, and for all ranges from 1st October, if you would be paying for calling landlines..