Home Help Search Login Register

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Disability Line (Read 8,042 times)
Tracy1979

Disability Line
Nov 11th, 2009 at 6:25pm

Hi Guys,

Complete newbie here but I wanted to raise a concern which has hit rather close to home based on this website.

My mum tried to call into Sky on their disability line and ended in a queue for 35 minutes - With arthritis in both hands this is not easy .  Why because someone has posted the Accessibility line on this website as an alternative way to phone Sky free ?  This number is used for people with a disabiility to make sure they dont have to wait in a queue

I am against premium rate numbers as much as anyone else but not when it is impacting on vulnerable people who rely on this type of service.

I am sure you cant check every number that is posted on here but is there a way to let people know thats what the number should be used for ?

Thanks guys and sorry for my first post being a moan  !!

Tracy

IP Logged

SilentCallsVictim
Supreme Member

aka NHS.Patient, DH_fairtelecoms

Re: Disability Line
Reply #1 - Nov 11th, 2009 at 7:08pm

The point is well made. The following comments are not intended as criticism, but as a suggestion about how the issue could be progressed.

I think that it would be worth approaching BSkyB about this to ask about the delay in getting through on the disability line.

If they say that the delay is caused by people misusing the special service, then ask them what they are going to do about it. Invite them to engage in discussion with saynoto0870 about why they charge customers for access to their other services without declaring the fact that normal telephone contact with them is conducted using, what is in effect although not by formal definition, a premium rate telephone service.