Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
SAYNOTO0870.COM

<---- Back to main website

Home Help Search Login Register

Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 8
Send Topic Print
Is Transport for London to switch to 0843 2221234? (Read 171,963 times)
irrelevant

Re: Is Transport for London to switch to 0843 2221
Reply #15 - Nov 28th, 2009 at 10:55am

I'm sorry; my knowledge of telecoms is mostly technical, and from an interested-observer point of view - I have no inside knowledge.  My political and campaigning skills are zero and I happily defer to those whom are much better at it.

My impression is that many of those whom have been sold 08 numbers have been done so by unscrupulous salespersons who sell on the basis of the income available, and gloss over, or just lie about, the additional costs for callers.  Also, they have become so common, and the untruths ("local call rate" etc) so often quoted, that there's a fair amount of "well if they can do it, so can I" too.  Nobody tells them that it can put off customers from calling...

Whilst it is true that 01/02 numbers can be linked to all the same call handling facilities as NGN numbers, to add this to an existing number can involve some technical trickery, as the standard BT exchanges do not generally support it - either additional equipment would need to be installed in-house, or the number would have to be ported to another operator who can handle it, either of which might involve some downtime at point of changeover.

Supply of a new number of any sort avoids this, of course, as it can be set up in parallel first.  And operators will push 08* numbers as their cut is much higher, and it gives them enough margin to cover the cost of forwarding the call back to the existing 01/02 number, so making setup far easier.  This is why we usually find geographic numbers behind NGN numbers.

The only benefits of 03 over using a geographic number that I can see are:
- it'll slot right into existing NGN providers infrastructure