Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
SAYNOTO0870.COM

<---- Back to main website

Home Help Search Login Register

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Doctor using geographical number (Read 7,212 times)
Weary

Doctor using geographical number
Jan 22nd, 2013 at 11:24pm

I am no expert in these matters, and I apologise if this is a silly question. I had assumed that the 'justification' for organisations using 0845 numbers was that the technology of 'call-queueing' etc was only available on these numbers. However yesterday I rang my local GP (a geographical number) and immediately joined a queueing system, complete with irritating music. I WAS pleased that the technology was there to tell me what number in the queue I was, something which HMRC seems unwilling to implement.

My question is: can all the benefits of 0845 numbers to a business (other than getting a 'nice little earner') be achieved by the use of a geographical number?

IP Logged

idb
Supreme Member

Miami, Florida, United States
Re: Doctor using geographical number
Reply #1 - Jan 23rd, 2013 at 2:51am

Weary wrote on Jan 22nd, 2013 at 11:24pm:
I am no expert in these matters, and I apologise if this is a silly question. I had assumed that the 'justification' for organisations using 0845 numbers was that the technology of 'call-queueing' etc was only available on these numbers. However yesterday I rang my local GP (a geographical number) and immediately joined a queueing system, complete with irritating music. I WAS pleased that the technology was there to tell me what number in the queue I was, something which HMRC seems unwilling to implement.

My question is: can all the benefits of 0845 numbers to a business (other than getting a 'nice little earner') be achieved by the use of a geographical number?