<---- Back to main website

Home Help Search Login Register

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
BBC now using 0871 (Read 23,422 times)
redant

BBC now using 0871
Feb 3rd, 2007 at 12:39pm

Walked in on a BBC 1 cookery programme today and was invited to put a question to the chefs by calling 0871 *******. This is the first time I have seen an 0871 numbers used on BBC but with the imminent (well next year anyway) demise of the profit from 0870 I am sure will not be the last. I have noticed that the use of 0871 seems to be increasing as there is no point now in taking out an 0870 number. Perhaps we should be looking at renaming the site "say no to 0871", but i'm sure this has already been suggested. By the way, I am a newbie but used to post under "davis1"; when I changed my computer found I could not access the site so have re-registered.

IP Logged

farci

Glasgow
Re: BBC now using 0871
Reply #1 - Feb 3rd, 2007 at 1:20pm

redant wrote on Feb 3rd, 2007 at 12:39pm:
Walked in on a BBC 1 cookery programme today and was invited to put a question to the chefs by calling 0871 *******. This is the first time I have seen an 0871 numbers used on BBC but with the imminent (well next year anyway) demise of the profit from 0870 I am sure will not be the last. I have noticed that the use of 0871 seems to be increasing as there is no point now in taking out an 0870 number. Perhaps we should be looking at renaming the site "say no to 0871", but i'm sure this has already been suggested. By the way, I am a newbie but used to post under "davis1"; when I changed my computer found I could not access the site so have re-registered.

Here is an extract from BBC Editorial guidelines:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/guidelines/editorialguidelines/edguide/interacting/telephon...

These state clearly that pemium rate numbers should only be used in very special circumstances. Why not write to the programme's producers and ask why they used the 0871 number?

IP Logged

derrick
Supreme Member