Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
SAYNOTO0870.COM

<---- Back to main website

Home Help Search Login Register

Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Dial-up ISPs with geographical numbers (Read 48,783 times)
PhilUp

Re: land lines for ISPs
Reply #15 - Nov 2nd, 2004 at 7:29pm

Hi

I have also had this problem with Eidos.  As far as I am concerned I just want any free pay as you go dial up (not broadband / ISDN) where I can sign up & use the landline.

Ideally I want to connect to the internet this way so I can prefix the number, allowing me free access to dial up also (As non Geo numbers are not inc in free calls).

Any suggestions?

Phil

IP Logged

DaveM
Global Moderator

Du vin, du pain,   du
Ibuprofen ¡

Peterborough
Reply #16 - Nov 3rd, 2004 at 1:34am

I'm a support engineer and I charge £250 per day (or part of) plus travel costs, for Technical Support problems (which this falls under  Roll Eyes)
I have an 09xx number that I commisioned especially for this purpose, which charges at a slightly lower rate (but not much) so if anyone's still interested, please send me a message and I will let you know it.   Wink

IP Logged

jrawle
Supreme Member

Didcot, Oxfordshire
Reply #17 - Nov 5th, 2004 at 8:33pm

PhilUp wrote on Nov 2nd, 2004 at 7:29pm:
I have also had this problem with Eidos.  As far as I am concerned I just want any free pay as you go dial up (not broadband / ISDN) where I can sign up & use the landline.

Ideally I want to connect to the internet this way so I can prefix the number, allowing me free access to dial up also (As non Geo numbers are not inc in free calls).

As far as I'm concerned, dial-up internet is the one area where the use of 0845 is justified. The small amount of revenue that this generates for ISPs pays for the connection - and bandwidth has to be paid for somehow, after all. 0845 access is perfect for light internet users who go online in the evening or at weekends.
« Last Edit: Jun 18th, 2006 at 6:58pm by Dave »  
IP Logged

robinp