Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
SAYNOTO0870.COM

<---- Back to main website

Home Help Search Login Register

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Objections to non-geographical numbers (Read 11,275 times)
calas

UK
Objections to non-geographical numbers
Nov 21st, 2005 at 7:09pm

This is my first attempt to contribute to an online forum so please bear with me if go off the rails.

Just want to make the point that a big additional disadvantage of 0870/0845 numbers is that they are not accessible from outside the UK. So when travelling abroad it is impossible to phone a UK business or public organization which has never published a geographical contact phone number. This is at best an absurd and unnecesssary inconvenience, and at worst a serious obstacle to international telecommunications

IP Logged

mintyboy

Re: Objections to non-geographical numbers
Reply #1 - Nov 21st, 2005 at 9:36pm

The reason the company I work has an 0870 number is that we can relocate the office if needed urgently to anywhere in the UK, as required by our regulating body, and also we provide a service for which we do not charge.
All of the income from the 0870 and another source (minimal) keeps us afloat, and me in a job.

For companies such as sky or the big nationals / institutionals this is just a money maker regardless, thats why they keep you hanging on with the "your call is important to us" for 30 mins.

just my 2p worth

IP Logged

gdh82

Reply #2 - Nov 21st, 2005 at 9:48pm

Thanks, Calas, for your post which got me thinking......why not ask for people's

TOP 5 Objections to NGNs

...this could prove a simple way of gathering together the key issues for other newcomers and relative newbie's like me!  Good or bad idea, here's mine...

1. WAY overpriced (calling 0870 from a landline can be eight times more expensive)
2. NGNs are NOT included in inclusive call plans (where you've ALREADY PAID for unlimited calls!)